Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

September Progress Report

2 Comments

I saw my lapband surgeon and my primary care doctor this week, covering a lot of bases. They were both pleased with my weight loss (121 lbs in 18 months), which has slowed down a lot lately. But I’m still losing an average of 1 lb/week while feeling very normal; that counts a lot.

I’ve been having problems with my back and my right knee, which limits what I can do for exercise (tho I’m still doing what I can with my trainer and on my own).  One reason for the back issues is probably the apron of belly skin left from losing weight. It’s just not elastic enough to come back to a normal shape.  I got a referral to a plastic surgeon to talk about options, see what they advise and what their rules are, etc. I hadn’t thought I’d actually do this but am seeing now that it makes sense. In any case, the surgeons aren’t likely to do anything until I’ve been at my goal weight for a year.

Which led to the “what is my goal weight?” discussion, really for the first time. I had a ballpark number but have been having some reservations about it as the pounds fell off.  My brain hasn’t caught up with the loss, which is actually normal since it usually takes approximately one year for every 25 lbs for reality to take hold.

Much to my relief, my primary care doctor advised that my goal be 165-170 lbs and that she’d be very happy for me to be at a BMI of 30.  (It’s already dropped from 54.9 to 33.2 so 30 isn’t that far away.)  I’d been afraid she would want me out of the obese & overweight categories and down to 130, a weight I haven’t seen since junior high and don’t think I could maintain.  Dr. W. is practical and stressed that a healthy BMI for ME doesn’t have to match what a chart says.

FYI: don’t worry if you don’t hear from me very often over the next weeks.  I am program chair for my professional association’s annual conference next summer and we’re gearing up to review 200 proposals, evaluate and rate, and finally select programs.  I’m also learning the ins/outs of the new responsibilities I take over on Nov. 1 (the day after we finalize the programs).  So I’m likely to be slow on the blogging front, but I’ll check in when I can!

2 thoughts on “September Progress Report

  1. LOVED the picture!

    And I agree with you and your doc 100%
    picking a maintenance level which can be successful is really important.

    I also agree with the plastic surgery. There a number of blogger who have been candid about their ‘aprons’. So I have seen what you are/will be dealing and it creates so many problems. Posture, clothes, skin breakdown, interference with exercise/life. All very valid reasons to have the surgery. It isn’t really ‘cosmetic’ at all.

  2. Congrats on your progress. Sorry to hear the excess skin is causing so many problems. I imagine other WLS bloggers have dealt with the same issue. Are there any good solutions while you wait to be eligible for surgery? For some reason I’m thinking of a girdle-type-thing to hold things in place so you can move more freely.

    I’ve been a lot less active online too. It’s much better to skimp on online time to live your life than vice-versa!

Leave a Reply

