Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Christmas Then and Now

7 Comments

Two years ago I spent Christmas with my family in Texas.  I weighed in at 312 lbs and was sad and not in a good place with my body or my weight.  This year I went again, weighing 182.2 lbs and oh, what a difference!


 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Everyone I saw told me how beautiful I was, asked me how I did it, didn’t I feel wonderful, was it hard, what could I eat, etc.  And I found I had a hard time knowing what/how to respond, other than to say “thank you.”

I’m in a good place now, a stable place.  I’m proud of my accomplishments, because they are considerable and have been life-changing.  I’ve lost 130 lbs and enjoy shopping for clothes and finding things that both fit and flatter.  My belly and upper arms are annoying because of all the extra skin, but I’m having medically necessary plastic surgery in March to have those areas trimmed (at last I think we’re doing the arms; it depends on insurance).

Back in 2008 I said: “I don’t want to diet. I want to eat sensibly in moderation, to enjoy a variety of food, to ease the stress on my knees, to be comfortable in my body and with myself.  That may be mutually exclusive.  All I can do is try and take things one small step at a time.”

That pretty much describes where I am now.  Emotionally I’m in a very calm place.  I haven’t really found the weight loss to be hard this time, not since I heard the “click” that said “It’s time now” and took it one step at a time.

7 thoughts on “Christmas Then and Now

  1. Congratulations! Glad you are enjoying your new body and best of all, feeling comfortable in it! Like the “hate loss” post too.

  2. Wow, wow, wow. Comfort is my racket, I hope I can someday get where you are.

  3. yeah! what wonderful pics. Very glad things are better. You have worked hard.

  4. Unbelieveable! Thank you for posting these pictures. I found you from Vickie…and what a worthwhile find. I’ll be looking through your archive to see how you did this, though I suspect you did it the old fashioned way…eating less and moving more. Congratulations and may you be feeling all the joy you deserve.

  5. Anne, you look beautiful. Congratulations! Enjoy the attention & your new health & body. So glad you can get the arm-skin surgery–there’s just no amount of exercise that will fix that. Very proud of & happy for you!

  6. Love the photos! You’ve earned it all, my friend!

  7. Wow! I just found you blog and WOW! congrats on your weight loss! You rock!

Leave a Reply

