Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Not Lost, Just Buried

2 Comments

In case you’ve been on an island in the middle of the Pacific, you may have heard that the Northeast has gotten a little snow.  Over and over and over, usually on Tuesday, Wednesday and/or Thursday.  It started with 16″ of snow over Christmas but that was just a taste of January, which has been the snowiest month on record here in Connecticut.

Two weeks ago we got 25″ of snow in one storm on top of what was already on the ground.  Last week got another 18″ of snow with ice and sleet just for fun.  This coming week we’re expecting 4-6″ (such a piddly amount)  on Tuesday followed by hammering snow and ice on Wednesday.  FYI, it’s hard to shovel snow after it turns into solid blocks of ice.

No one knows what to do with all the snow we already have.  Our streets aren’t all that wide on a dry day and with every storm, snow piles up on existing snow and the plows box in snow-crusted cars already feet away from the curb.   That’s assuming that the plows come by at all.  The roads, while driveable, are down to single lanes in some places, or at least 2 lanes instead of 4, which keeps everyone on their toes.  Makes me grateful to have a little red car that’s easy to see against the snow piles, but that’s assuming the other drivers remember to look. Parking lots are equally a mess.  There’s simply nowhere to PUT this stuff.

Now don’t get me wrong:  snow shoveling is excellent cardio work, and I’ve done a lot of it in the last few weeks.  We do community shoveling, working together with all kinds of shovels to dig out each others cars.  One neighbor has a broken foot and another is 95 with macular degeneration and a 68 year old caretaker, so taking care of their cars is also a priority.

I’m getting terribly behind at work.  Although I can do some things from home, I can’t uncrate and process shipments of books, sign invoices, meet with selectors about new orders, etc.  I have to be there.  But I’m also a wimpette when it comes to winter driving.  Or rather, I know my limits and what things are problems, such as hills.  I’m willing to take a vacation day to avoid driving in snowy conditions but some of the support staff are low on time to use which puts them in a bind.

When the snow is falling this week, I plan to keep myself safe and dry.  I have plenty of food for my yogurt/fruit breakfasts and portion controlled dinners in the freezer (lots of chili in there), and the makings for Brunswick Stew and red beans and rice.  Or meat sauce to eat over steamed broccoli.  And plenty of cat food, of course.  I know who’s the boss of my house.

2 thoughts on “Not Lost, Just Buried

  1. my mom has two neighbors who take turns shoveling her sidewalks and driveway. Extremely helpful and appreciated. you are doing a very good deed. I remember one time in the mid 60’s having the snow drifts nearly as high as the roof of the cars. and by the time the snow was piled on either side of the porch and walk, it was nearly level with the top of the house windows. very exciting for a child, but I agree, very annoying for adults who have to get to work.

  2. A little bit of snow can go a long ways…the problem, like you said, “where do you put it?” I hope you’re being careful of your knee, back and shoulders.

    BTW, can I tell you how much I love that photo of the judge with the snow on the building?

Leave a Reply

