Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Yes, I Still Have Drains

4 Comments

My surgery was four weeks ago today and in many ways, I’ve come a very long way in four short weeks.  It’s already hard to remember how much it hurt that first week (we do block that stuff out of our heads as soon as possible so we don’t go crazy).

But I still have my drains.  I knew this was coming and it sucks, to put it bluntly.  It was clear to me by the weekend that there was no way that the fluid collection was going to drop to 30 cc (1 oz) per day per drain.  Not when I was still getting 40 cc from one of the three measuring times.  So I tried to just tell myself that I’d have them for another two weeks, just so I wouldn’t be completely discouraged.  Doesn’t mean I have to like them, though.

I went back to work last Thursday, actually managing full time, much to my surprise.  My doctor wanted me not to start on a Monday and it was really smart.  Having two days of work followed by two days of weekend R&R gave me a chance to get more sleep, visit the hair place, and buy little clothes for a baby shower.   They are all so CUTE, it was hard not to buy out the store.

So to summarize:

  • I have drains.
  • I want a shower.
  • I’m feeling much better and have a waist and everything.
  • I’m back to work.
  • My energy levels aren’t all the way back so I’m trying to get extra sleep.
  • Baby clothes are cute.
  • I love my cat.
4 thoughts on “Yes, I Still Have Drains

  1. Mostly good news. Sorry you’re still stuck with the drains but hopefully it won’t be for much longer. Glad you’re managing OK at work.

  2. (can you sit in the bath tub with just a few inches of hot water to at least have your bottom parts feel refreshed?) I would be going nuts with no shower or bath for that long. I can imagine bending over the sink is easier now (shampoo) but had to have been really tough with combination of arms and belly. glad you posted. was wondering if you were surviving work. Is it painful to use steering wheel or is reaching okay now?

  3. I like Vickie’s idea–if you lived near me, you could borrow my shower bench (but it was only $25) and at least soak your feet and wash your legs. Can you go to the hairdresser’s for shampoos/blow-outs?

    The drains do suck but you have a good attitude about it (at least for now :-)) and it will be gone soon enough. Of all the things to complicate your life, at least it is stupid drains and nothing terribly serious or painful. *hugs*

  4. back to the doc this week? things still improving?

Leave a Reply

