Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Healing Power of Doing Nothing

10 Comments

I have done almost nothing over this 10-day recess break period, and this year especially it’s been a blessing I needed more than I knew.  Having this break is a major perk of working in academia. Some years I fly to Texas to be with family, but honestly, I miss them for about 30 min on Christmas morning and the rest of the time I’m happy on my own without the stress of holidays and expectations.

I slept until I woke up most days until I finally feel rested and my eyes look less bruised from lack of sleep.  My time was my own.  I did limited shopping, got a pedicure, had my hair cut and colored, and took Tessie to the vet.  I drove out to a consignment shop an hour away that I’ve wanted to go to for months, and did genealogy research for my 95-year-old neighbor. I bought furniture.

I went through drawers, boxes, closets and shelves to weed out what I don’t need/want to take to my new apartment, lugging bags and boxes to Goodwill – and even more bags to the dumpster or recycling bins.

But mostly I spent the time alone with Tessie and it was just what I needed.  I enjoy being with people but it tires me out, especially in the chaotic bustle of the holiday season.  I brought some work home but kept it in my bag without opening it – which made me really happy.  More to do when I get back tomorrow, but emptying my head of work was necessary.

I hope I can remember all the codes I need to know tomorrow.  But at least I will go in rested and ready to take it on.

10 thoughts on “Healing Power of Doing Nothing

  1. An excellent way to spend your break. Good for you!

    And I’ll bet you can look those codes up if you need to 🙂

  2. Glad you got some good rest in! I enjoyed my downtime too.

  3. Sounds like a dream vacation to me! Wishing you call the best in 2012.

  4. Sounds absolutely wonderful!

  5. We had a pretty quiet holiday here in the Middle of Nowhere. Most of the festivities happened well before Christmas, and we definitely enjoyed it that way. I’m so glad you got the rest you needed, and hope your moves goes smoothly.

  6. You did the right thing for yourself, and the benefits of that peaceful time will pay dividends into the new year. Glad you’re feeling rested!

  7. thought you were about at the one year mark for skin surgeries over the weekend (how I remembered that I don’t know). How did everything end up in the end (assuming you are at the end)? My husband had neck surgery last month and came home with drains, I thought a lot about all you had done on your own (my husband was pretty much on his own too as none of us had the stomach for the drains, no med schools in any of our futures).

    And are you near the anniversary of your lapband too? I was thinking that was a spring thing too? Two? Three years ago?

  8. http://dietchick.blogspot.com/2012/10/meet-cat-grayson.html

    Old blogger who is back with new blog, thought you might like her cat story today.

  9. I have been thinking about you. I am recovering from plastic surgery. Amazing all you did living on your own in your recoveries. Hard to believe how long you have been “gone”. Time goes so quickly. Hope you are well.

  10. If I have the right date, HAPPY BIRTHDAY!

Leave a Reply

