It’s been four months

My gastric sleeve surgery was 4 months ago today and I just got back from my check in with the medical team. Bottom line is I’m doing great! No problems or questions, just a chance to brag on myself a bit and get praised for doing things right.

I’ve lost 84 pounds, 49 since my surgery and 35 in the months before that, and I’m losing at a steady 12-15 lbs a month, which is perfect. I didn’t see a huge loss immediately post-op because I started seriously working on the weight loss just before my July birthday. I have a target goal for this year’s birthday but haven’t set a target overall weight goal. That will come.

I’m seeing medical changes that I hadn’t expected. Remember the two chronic thrombii (not active DVT’s) in my right leg? The one in my calf is gone and the much bigger one in the upper thigh is down to about a third the size it was. Yes, I’m taking blood thinners, but my PA told me the real difference was the weight change. I had no idea it would matter. Monday my dermatologist told me that my scalp psoriasis will settle down to mild symptoms as my weight continues to go down. Really? Scalp psoriasis and weight? Yes, it’s a thing, another one that no one told me.

Sleep has stabilized and I usually get at least 8 hours of good sleep each night using my CPAP. When I sleep in the chair in the living room sans CPAP, I still get solid sleep which is a big change. My dreams are still vivid and pretty out there. Monday’s included my best friend with a bunch of lady law librarian friends and Justice Sonya Sotomayor up in a snowbound hideaway in Norway, discussing current SCOTUS shenanigans.

My feet are smaller and I’m down 1/2 a size in my beloved zipper shoes. Now they’re not falling off my feet which not only looks better, it’s a safety thing as well. I’m also down three sizes in clothes and have donated bags and bags and bags of clothes, shoes, and a few coats. Sometimes I don’t recognize myself when I look in the mirror.

I’m rarely hungry and get tons of protein and water, and careful amounts of carbs and fats. Exercise is the one area where I really need to improve and I have a plan for doing that. My power wheelchair is really too big but I’m keeping it for now and had the arms pulled in as far as they could go.

Best of all, I feel accomplished and happy.

3 thoughts on “It’s been four months

Leave a comment