Random Thoughts of a Disordered Mind

Too many treats, too many points

3 Comments

I was right – I could hardly move this morning when it was time to get up. All those muscles that got a workout yesterday in my training session and then especially waxing the car stiffened up something fierce while I lay all snuggled in my cozy bed. The right shoulder and upper arm, and thighs, too, were screaming when I tried to move. Oops. I did some gentle stretches and then hobbled on to a long hot shower, which helped immensely.

Today was my weigh in day. I was happy to speak up and tell everyone all the things that have happened since last week’s epiphany; they were suitably impressed. My leader told me that I looked happy with myself and she was right. I did lose 1.2 lbs this week but that really wasn’t my goal; it was about getting control back.

OvereaterOf course, I lost it almost immediately when I stopped at the grocery store on the way home, including a box of Weight Watchers English Toffee Ice Cream Bars. Boy, that was dumb. Yes, they are portion-controlled – but a whole box is really not a portion. I don’t quite know what happened to me except that I wasn’t listening to my body, just the hunger I started with when I went to the store. It’s always hard to deal with not going to a weigh in feeling overstuffed and not being out of control as soon as the weigh in itself is over.

Oh well. I did fix a real dinner and I recorded everything I ate, including that whole box of WW bars. And again, oops. When you use the e-tools tracker, you just plug in the number of whatever it is that you ate and it figures out that what counts as 2 points for one of them suddenly multiplies like rabbits when you eat more than one. It was really scary to see how bad it was but it’s Day One of a new week and I’m being honest. I’ll just have to be careful tomorrow, which has already been plotted out.

I’m tired already and I didn’t do much today. It’s funny how that happens. One benefit of sleeping is that my eye is closed. That sounds dumb and self-evident, but I’m having problems with my left eye feeling as though it’s scratched and it’s happiest when it’s closed which is hard to do when I’m awake. I know nothing is in it, having rinsed it out and flooded it with artificial tears. If it’s still annoying me tomorrow, I’m going to give the doctor a call, though the eye doctor did tell me I have a problem with dry-eye and a lazy eyelid. I don’t quite know what I’m supposed to do with that knowledge but at least I know something.

For now I’m watching TV and feeling completely stuffed. Eating that box of treats definitely was a bad idea and hopefully knowing that will keep me from jumping up and doing it again anytime soon. No stars on my calendar for me today.

3 thoughts on “Too many treats, too many points

  1. That’s the number one problem I have weighing in the evenings on Mondays; I have a tendency to go a bit berserk after weighing in. Some of it has to do with the fact that I pretty much stop eating after 12 or 12:30 and it’s well after 5:30 before weigh in.

    But it’s also the mental aspect of weighing in. If it’s a good number, celebrate and relax and if it’s a bad number, what the hell. (Choose one.) I’d like to chose #3 but I haven’t figured out how to achieve that. The closest I’ve come is to leave WW, go directly to Outback (literally in the same parking lot) and go have a nice dinner with my friend C. We have our orders down pat. I do love their broccoli.

    Anne, you deserve a star b/c you came here and was accountable. So there! šŸ˜› And you lost 1.2 pounds! Yayy!

  2. Congratulations on the weight loss! You did so great last week, exercise and food wise!

    Don’t beat yourself up over the ww bars, just start over with the next meal, which is what you did. And I agree with Lori, after weighing in (whether loss or gain) the temptation to splurge is there (for everyone!).

    Hope your eye feels better.

  3. Arrgh, even our eyelids can be lazy? Just imagine the calories you’d burn with a more ambitious eyelid? šŸ˜‰

    WW food is so weirdly unsatisfying that I can never eat a normal amount of it. That goes double for those 100-calorie pak things. I’m better off with real food, even real junk food.

Leave a Reply

